Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

Why Wednesdays

on November 13, 2013

I have an idea for my first series here. One of my favorite things about blogs are hearing people’s stories. I want to know why they think and feel the way they do. One of my biggest emotional needs is to feel like I am understood and I think I’m not the only one that is that way. I also think the more we know each other’s stories, the more we know “why” people are who they are, the closer we will become. It is hard to really look down on people or judge them when you know their story. When you know why they are in the position that they are in or why they are passionate about the things they are passionate about. Sharing stories breaks down walls. They are not always easy to share or to hear but they are important. If we want to work together. If we want to make this world a better place and if those of us call ourselves Christians want to really show his love we have to be willing to share our stories and listen to the stories of others.

With all of that being said I don’t want to just feature my stories here. That would get really boring really fast and limit the point of the series. I want as many voices as I can to help contribute to this. I would love to hear your “why”. Why you got a divorce, are a vegan, have no kids or have six kids. I want to know why you are passionate about adoption, education, or equality. If I know you IRL I will probably be asking you to share something. Your “why” doesn’t have to be faith based or even serious. If you want to tell us why your team is the best, or why you love a book, let us hear it. . I just ask that they don’t become commercials for anything and that they are written with respect.

If you are interested in submitting please leave a comment. I will be starting with one of my “Whys” next week with why I won’t be shopping on Thanksgiving.

One response to “Why Wednesdays

  1. Shelly says:

    Sounds like a great idea!

Leave a Reply

