Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

Finishing Well

on April 30, 2013

My six year old is done with kindergarten. The only problem is there are three weeks left. Everyday he ask if I can check him out early. For the first time all year he cried today and said he didn’t want to go. I know this is all normal. He’s had a great school year and I’m proud of how well he has done. He is just ready for a nice long break.
I have to admit I am right there with him. I am done too. I don’t want to pack any more lunches, oversee anymore lame kindergarten homework assignments, or get three kids out the door first thing in the morning, I want to spend our days jumping on the trampoline and playing in the pool. I want to spend our evenings watching Braves games and catching fire flies. However, that is not an option. For three more weeks we must get up, go to school and do our best. The last part is what I am hoping to help him learn ( even if it is just a little). I want him to learn the importance of not quitting when there is still work to be done. I want him to learn to finish well. I have to admit I struggle with this. I am an excellent starter, not always such a great finisher. So it is my hope over the next three weeks to help him learn the joy in finishing a job well. The pride that comes with knowing you gave your all until the task was finished. He job is kindergarten and I want him to finish it strong not because I am worried about his academic standing but because I want him to know that he persevered. Then come May 22 at 3:20 in the afternoon we will party like crazy!

How do you help your kids finish well?

Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us. (Romans 5:3-5 NIV)

2 responses to “Finishing Well

  1. Shelly says:

    Good luck, Ashley! Maybe something along the lines of an Advent calendar for the rest of school, where he can get a small surprise at the end of each day? Of course, that would be more work for you, but maybe it would be something tiny to look forward to as he gets home?

Leave a Reply

