Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

I Can’t Get It Out Of My Head

on April 21, 2013

Have you ever had the experience where you find yourself running into the same thing over and over. Maybe a quote, or a song, or a passage of scripture? It becomes something you can’t get out of your head. For the last year there has been a verse of the Bible that has come up again and again. Honestly before last spring I don’t ever remember reading or hearing the verse. Now I seem to be coming across it on a regular basis. Here is the verse:

He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. (Micah 6:8 NIV)

Wow, what a verse! Now, I have to admit I do not know a lot about Micah, his book, or exactly what was going on with the people of Israel at this time. I know that at one point in my many Old Testament classes in college I probably did but 15 years and 3 children later that information is gone. So I have decide to study this book of the Old Testament for awhile. I also want to unpack what the words in this verse mean. What does it mean to “act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with God”? I am hoping studying the rest of the book will give me more context on how to fit these actions together.

I would love to know what this verse says to you. What do you think it means to do those three things.

Here are a few other translations of the verse. I especially like The Message’s translation.

But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do, what God is looking for in men and women. It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor, be compassionate and loyal in your love, And don’t take yourself too seriously— take God seriously. (Micah 6:8 MSG)

He has told you, human one, what is good and what the Lord requires from you: to do justice, embrace faithful love, and walk humbly with your God. (Micah 6:8 CEB)

The Lord God has told us what is right and what he demands: “See that justice is done, let mercy be your first concern, and humbly obey your God.” (Micah 6:8 CEVUK00)

Leave a Reply

