Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

Threat to Marriage ?

on March 27, 2013

There has been a lot of talk going around about marriage. The sanctity of marriage,what marriage means, who has the right to marry and what the effect of same sex marriage is on marriage in general.

The argument against same sex marriage that I don’t get is that it is a threat to “traditional” marriage. I am in a “traditional” marriage. My husband and I have been married for 14 years, we have three children, he works full time, I stay home and work from home, we attend church and until recently I was in paid ministry. You really can’t get to much more traditional than our marriage. Let me tell you the “threats” that our marriage has survived. I come from a divorced parents. My father has been divorced multiple times. So we started off with a couple strikes against us. Then during our marriage here are some of the “threats” that we have faced. Both of us working full time and him going back to school full time when we had a toddler at home, a child born with a heart condition, our oldest child having special needs and learning disabilities, ministry, loss of jobs, loss of a baby, a job that is going nowhere but meets our needs, a child with asthma who seems to be sick about 4-5 months of the year. I could go on. Those are just the threats we can’t really control. There are also the threats of our own selfishness, pettiness, and just taking each other for granted.

No other couple is a threat to our marriage. Not two men, two women, or another man and woman. The only two people that can threaten our marriage are us. Marriage is hard but beautiful work. At the end of the day nobody knows me like my husband . Nobody loves me like he does. My life would not be complete without our marriage. We are committed to each other, to God, and to the three crazy little people who depend on us. Our marriage makes us stronger. We are a team. My marriage is the best thing that ever happened to me. I would not want to deny that to anyone that wanted it.

2 responses to “Threat to Marriage ?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love it!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Whole heartedly agree.

Leave a Reply

