Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

Happy 11th Birthday

on March 15, 2013

My Sweet Boy,

Happy Birthday! You are 11 today. I am in complete disbelief over this. It seems like the days are going faster and faster. Everyday you seem taller. The reality of how tall you will be one day is becoming clear. The other thing that is staying clear is that you are so uniquely you. Your likes and interest are wide and ever growing. You are so smart. Your brain has ways of understanding things that amazes me. Even the areas you struggle with can not easily be put into a box. You challenge people’s understanding of what someone “on the spectrum” or someone with “learning differences” is suppose to be. You also have the biggest heart of anyone I know. You are loyal, empathetic, and kind. I pray you never lose these strengths. You are also learning the right ways to speak up for yourself and others. This one takes some work but you are getting it.

You have challenged yourself this year, macaroni and cheese, steak, new movies, and shows, a new church. I can not wait to see what the next year will bring. I worry sometimes because I know the next year will involve a lot of letting go. Boy Scouts and youth group. Places you will go without us. I hope you are ready because I don’t know if I am. I am ready for you to experience more of this world and make a difference in it so ultimately I know I will let you.

You are one of the greatest gifts that God ever gave me. I pray every day that I am doing the job I should. I am so proud of you!

Love,
Mommy

20130315-125918.jpg

One response to “Happy 11th Birthday

  1. Lauren says:

    Beautifully said! Happy Birthday, Noah!

Leave a Reply

