Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

An Answer I Will Not Accept And A Question I Have

on December 15, 2012

Not since 9/11 have I felt such complete heartbreak. I watched the news yesterday and sobbed. I sobbed for the children, the teachers and the parents whose lives would never be the same. I sobbed the hardest when I heard it was a kindergarten class where most of the tragedy took place. I thought about my own kindergartener sitting in his classroom at the exact same time. I remembered how just a couple of weeks ago he told me they had practiced “lock down procedures”.  I have never been so glad to pick him up from school and hold him close.

I have read a lot of people’s reactions to yesterday. Most of the reactions I can understand even if I don’t agree with them. I saw plenty of post from people last night saying they wanted their own gun now or they hoped someone at their child’s school had a gun.  I don’t share these feelings but I do understand them because they are coming from a place of hurt and loss.  We all grieve differently and that is ok.

There are two reactions that I don’t understand though. The first one is, “This happened because we told God he is not welcome in our schools”. REALLY?????  If this is your reaction you are basically telling these parents, “It’s your fault that this happened to your kids because you sent them to a godless public school” . This didn’t happen because we have taken God out of our schools” this happened because we live in a sinful and fallen world, end of story. Whether it is because of mental illness or just plain evil what happened yesterday was not part of God’s plan or some way he is getting back at us for “removing him from schools”. The God I know, love, and serve does not operate that way. Load up all your stories of Old Testament wrath you want I will not accept this as an answer.

Here is the second reaction I don’t understand, “Today is not the day to talk about gun control”.  This one I get a little more than the first because I think most people who say this are trying to be sensitive to others.I get that. If you know me you know I am extremely sensitive to the hurts and needs of others.  However, I just don’t understand how talking about what we could do to prevent this is insensitive. I did not see anyone telling people who want more guns that they are being insensitive. So why is it that it is only insensitive to talk about the gun control portion of the conversation? Let me be clear I am not anti gun. I do believe that we have the right to bear arms and I do think it is a right that should be protected. However, I do not believe that right is a free for all. I don’t know where the line is between our second amendment rights and reasonable gun control but I know there has to be one. I also know there are other factors at play such as mental illness, poverty, and over all violence in our society that we need to address. Like most important issues our country has faced this will not be an easy one to handle. We will yell and fight and disagree. If we are going to get anywhere people on both sides of the issues will have to give and take. That’s how we get things done. So here is my question, when can we have this discussion? If yesterday was not the day is today? If not today then when? How much time do we have left before this happens again?

One response to “An Answer I Will Not Accept And A Question I Have

  1. Angela says:

    Yep, I probably started a war on FB b/c my friend posted (in essence) “This happened because we told God he is not welcome in our schools”. It’s completely ridiculous, offending, and unbiblical. I just couldn’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

