Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

It’s Going To Be A Long Day

on November 6, 2012

It’s going to be a long day. Partly because I slept with a two year old and a nebulizer for the 4th straight night. More so because it is election day. The day that all of our opinions, arguments, and polls have been waiting for. Today is the day (if you have not already done so) we get to speak up and use our voices.  We will use our voices differently. We will make different decisions and that is ok.

Here is what I am begging of my fellow followers of Christ. Let’s use this day (and the ones that will follow) to be salt and light. No matter what the outcome people are going to be angry, hurt and disappointed. I’ll be honest I am going to feel some of those things if President Obama is not reelected. However, as Christians we have a chance to show the world how we can disagree with each other but still show respect and love to each other. Being salt and light does not always mean we stand with one voice on every issue. It does mean that maybe we can  react differently than those without the hope of Christ.

So let’s not get pulled into anymore name calling. Let’s not like things on Facebook that demonize the other side. Let us determine now that whoever wins tonight we will show the world that Christians can behave differently. Let us show our country that people who disagree with each other can work together. We can have conversations where we try to understand each other. We can find areas where we do agree. Most importantly we can treat each other and everyone else with the love of Christ.  Love, true love is how we will be salt and light in this world no matter who is elected.

If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love but I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate. If I speak God’s word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything as plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain “jump” and it jumps, but I don’t love I’m nothing. If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake burned as a martyr, but I don’t love I’ve gotten nowhere. So no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love. Love never gives up. Love cares more for others than for self. Love does not want what it does not have. Love dosen’t stut, Doesn’t have a swelled head, Doesn’t force itself on others, Isn’t always “me first”, Doesn’t fly off the handle, Doesn’t keep score of the sin of others. Doesn’t revel when other grovel, Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth, puts up with anything, Trust God always, Always looks for the best, Never looks back, But keeps going to the end. Love never dies. 1 Corinthians 13:1-8 The Message

 

Leave a Reply

