Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

To My Sweet Boy

on August 6, 2012

My Sweet Boy,

I can not begin to tell you how quickly the last five and a half years have gone by. It seems like just yesterday they were putting this 6 pound 7 ounce baby in my arms. I think you were born smiling. I think you were also born to make us all laugh. I have said for years we did not pick your name. God must have picked it and given it to us for you. “Laughter” no name could fit you better.  From the beginning you have been your own person. You are strong and independent.  You have to learn your lessons on your own and test things to find out if they are true. You are 100% you and I wouldn’t want you any other way.

A whole new part of your life starts tomorrow. I am so excited for you because you are so excited. I am not sure that it has even occurred to you to be scared. All you see in a new world of friends to make and experiences to have. I love this about you. You see the world as something to conqueror and you have no doubt of your place in it.

Tonight I watched you sleep curled up with you blanket and bear and was reminded that you are still very much a little boy. I pray that you will stay that little boy for awhile longer. Most of all I pray though that you will continue to love the way that you do now. I pray you will love with your whole heart. That you will look out for the person who is being left out. I want you to stay kind and generous. I want others to see the love of Jesus in you.

I love you so much my beautiful boy!

Mommy

This song pretty much says it all!

 

 

Leave a Reply

