Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

Wonderfully Kind, Tolerant, and Patient?

on July 17, 2012

I love it when I am reading a passage in the Bible that I know I have read countless time but God uses it to speak in a new way. I love it when a verse in that passage stands out for the first time. I am studying Romans right now with a great group of women. Romans is a tough book and I will be the first to admit that I don’t always love Paul. I am pretty sure if Paul and I had lived at the same time we would have had more than one heated discussion.

The first couple of chapters of Romans Paul talks about sin and how sinful people all. He talks about hard hearts and judgment.It’s the kind of stuff that often makes us Christians feel pretty good. We can always find people who have done worse things than we have. This past week however a couple pf verse I don’t remember from all of the other times I have studied Romans stood out.”Since you judge others for doing these things, why do you think you can avoid God’s judgment when you do the same things? Don’t you see how wonderfully kind, tolerant, and patient God is with you? Does this mean nothing to you? Can’t you see that this kindness is intended to turn you from your sin” (Romans 2:3-4)

Yikes, when was the l was “wonderfully kind, tolerant and patient” with someone I thought was in the wrong or not living the way God would want them to. When did I use these actions to try to help someone turn from sin? So often I am to quick to criticize or judge when I don’t like how someone is living. For me it’s often when I don’t think other Christian are living the way they should. When I don’t think they are loving others the way I think they should. The irony is I don’t always use love to try to help them turn from that. I am just asking for God’s judgment because I am doing the very thing I accuse them of.

I’m pretty sure I will be plastering this verse around a lot pf places. I am going to try to keep it on my heart for  when I find myself starting to judge or criticize others.

 

Leave a Reply

