Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

What I Have Learned In The Last 10 Years

on March 15, 2012

Tomorrow my oldest child will be 10 years old. That means I have been parenting for a decade. I will have a child in the double digits. I am finding this all a little hard to believe. It seems like just yesterday they were handing me this 9 pound 6 ounce baby and telling me he was mine. I have thought about the way my life has changed in the last 10 years. I have also thought about all the things that I know now that I did not know 10 years ago because of this gift that was given to me. Here are a few:

  • The name of every construction vehicle ( our toddler obsession).
  • The complete history of the U.S.A. space program.
  • The causes and effects of climate change.
  • Anything about dinosaurs.
  • That museums are really cool.
  • Great details about earthquakes and what causes them.
  • How to be a really good friend.
  • That ADHD is very, very real and it sucks at times.
  • What Sensory Processing Disorder is and it sucks some times too.
  • That Howard Gardner is right there are so many ways to be smart.
  • How big the world is.
  • How important traditions are.
  •  What it really means to love someone so much that you would die for them.
  • How exciting the world is.
  • How scary the world is.
  • What is means to try really hard at things.
  • How to love people for who they are.

My sweet boy you changed my life forever. You make the world a better place. I know that God is going to use you to do amazing things in the world. Happy Birthday I can not wait to see who you will be 10 years from now.

Leave a Reply

