Use My Voice

Speaking up about the issues I can't get out of my head or heart.

“The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective”

on January 30, 2012

“The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective”

James 5:16

Yesterday was a big day.  When you are in ministry there a some days that you file away in your mental memory box. Yesterday was one of those days. Yesterday was a baptism Sunday  at Church of The Way (where I have the privilege of serving as Children’s Pastor).  Now we baptize people several times a year but for me yesterday was even more special.

Yesterday actually started over 15 years ago when a friend of mine from high school (wow that makes me feel old) became a follower of Christ. My friend started praying for her mom to become a follower of Christ. Now this friend and I lost touch through college and the early part of our married lives. We reconnected via Facebook two years ago to learn we both had two sons and were pregnant with daughters. A bond formed instantly. One evening this past summer we were out when she mentioned, “Hey, my mom came to your church this morning”. I could tell she was trying not to read too much into it, trying not to get her hopes up. “I’ve prayed for so long” she said.

Well, almost 6 months later my friend’s mom was baptized yesterday morning.  I stood there with tears of joy in my eyes as I knew that James 5:16 was true.  It served as reminder to me to not give up on things that I have prayed for. That often I assume that my prayers are not going to be answered (or at least not the way I want them to be) but it might just not be the right time yet.  So I am challenging myself to think of things that maybe I once prayed about but have given up on.

So don’t give up, continue your prayers, whatever it is you have been praying for for so long.

One response to ““The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective”

  1. Angela says:

    aw, I just saw this!!! Love you, sweet friend!!!!

Leave a Reply

